Skip to content

I Heard The Word/From Word of Mouth/That You Were Into Booking Flights

December 15, 2008

These sort of things are pretty easy to find on the net: I mean I got that collection of songs Shadow samples on Endtroducing…, I watched that Daft Punk sample thing on YouTube (warning: both of these will hurt your feeelings) and I looked up Girl Talk on Wikipedia to work out the harder ones. This site was not bad for naming all the references in Kill Bill for my cinema studies essay either. But I never went out and found out what all those samples on Since I Left You were. Thanks to this awesome post over on Butter Team however I decided to get on the case. It gives us two songs that were used on the title track plus a clip from some retarded movie featuring one of these said tracks. Sweet.

After finding out that the album contains somewhere around 900 samples I kind of got over the idea of tracking down a comprehensive list. But here are a few of the officially cleared ones:

prince paul – more than you know (featuring de la soul)
From “Flight Tonight”. I spotted this one ages ago all by myself because I am cool.

debbie reynolds – tammy
From “A Different Feeling”. Also on the soundtrack for both The Big Lebowski and Fear And Loathing in Las Vegas apparently. I have seen both of these movies a number of times but could not place this song in a particular scene with confidence. Have I watched either of these films sober ever?

marlena shaw- yu ma
From “Two Hearts in 3/4 Time”. I have never heard Marlena Shaw’s name mentioned except in relation to hip-hop samples/remixes.

On a totally unrelated subject, how is this photo of The Chef? If Only Built 4 Cuban Linx 2 ever comes out it is going to be amazing.
raekwon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 11:19 pm

    guess you can say it’s not totally unrelated since Raekwon’s “Glaciers of Ice” is the main sample behind “Avalanche Rock” from their El Producto EP…

  2. February 14, 2009 11:28 am

    nice post

Leave a Reply

